Coronation Day/The real name of bangkok

The 6th April is a public holiday in Thailand.

The 6th April is Chakri Memorial Day (วันจักรี Wan Chakkri). This recognizes as the Coronation Day of King Buddha Yodfa Chulaloke พระบาทสมเด็จพระพุทธยอดฟ้าจุฬาโลกมหาราช(Reign: 1782–1809) who established the Chakri Dynasty pronounced in Thai “Ratchawong Chakri” and the Rattanakosin Kingdom (รัตนโกสินทร์) known as Bangkok City today. 

The area of Bangkok dates at least to the early 15th century, when it was a village on the west bank of the Chao Phraya River, under the rule of Ayutthaya. Because of its strategic location near the mouth of the river, the town gradually increased in importance. Bangkok initially served as a customs outpost with forts on both sides of the river, and became the site of a siege in 1688 in which the French were expelled from Siam. After the fall of Ayutthaya to the Burmese Empire in 1767, the newly declared King Taksin established his capital at the town, which became the base of the Thonburi Kingdom. In 1782, King Phutthayotfa Chulalok (Rama I) succeeded Taksin, moved the capital to the eastern bank's Rattanakosin Island, thus founding the Rattanakosin Kingdom. The City Pillar was erected on 21 April, which is regarded as the date of foundation of the present city.

The Chakri Dynasty has continued on to the present Thai Monarchy. His Majesty King Bhumibol Adulyadej is the ninth King (Rama IX)

พระบาทสมเด็จพระเจ้าอยู่หัว ภูมิพลอดุลยเดช มหาราช (Reigned since 1946, coronation 5 May 1960)

His Majesty King Bhumibol Adulyadej is the World’s longest-serving current Head of State and the longest-reigning Monarch in Thai history.

So..the real name of Bangkok is the longest city name on Earth.!

      Bangkok is the capital of Thailand and the largest city in the country. But it is typically only called Bangkok in English. In Thai, it is often called Krung Thep Maka Nakhon,(กรุงเทพมหานคร) or just Krung Thep.(กรุงเทพฯ)  

Its full name is 

"กรุงเทพมหานคร อมรรัตนโกสินทร์ มหินทรายุธยามหาดิลกภพ 

นพรัตน์ราชธานีบุรีรมย์ อุดมราชนิเวศน์มหาสถาน อมรพิมานอวตารสถิต 


grung tâep má-hăa ná-kon a-mon-rát-dtà-ná-goh-sĭn 
ma-hin-ta-raa yút-tá-yaa-ma-hăa dì-lòk 
póp nóp-pá-rát râat-chá-taa-nee bù-ree-rom 
u-dom râat ní-wâet má-hăa sà-tăan
a-mon-pí-maan a-wá-dtaan sà-tìt 
sàk gà tát dtì  wít-sà-nú gambprà-sìt
What it means is “The city of angels, the great city, the residence of the Emerald Buddha, the impregnable city (unlike Ayutthaya) of God Indra, the grand capital of the world endowed with nine precious gems, the happy city, abounding in an enormous Royal Palace that resembles the heavenly abode where reigns the reincarnated god, a city given by Indra and built by Vishnukarn.”

Bangkok's fifty districts. - Thirty-five of these districts lie to the east of the Chao Phraya, while fifteen are on the western bank, known as the Thonburi side of the city. 

  1. Phra Nakhon District
  2. Dusit District
  3. Nong Chok District
  4. Bang Rak District
  5. Bang Khen District
  6. Bang Kapi District
  7. Pathum Wan District
  8. Pom Prap Sattru Phai District
  9. Phra Khanong District
  10. Min Buri District
  11. Lat Krabang District
  12. Yan Nawa District
  13. Samphanthawong District
  14. Phaya Thai District
  15. Thon Buri District
  16. Bangkok Yai District
  17. Huai Khwang District
  18. Khlong San District
  19. Taling Chan District
  20. Bangkok Noi District
  21. Bang Khun Thian District
  22. Phasi Charoen District
  23. Nong Khaem District
  24. Rat Burana District
  25. Bang Phlat District
  1. Din Daeng District
  2. Bueng Kum District
  3. Sathon District
  4. Bang Sue District
  5. Chatuchak District
  6. Bang Kho Laem District
  7. Prawet District
  8. Khlong Toei District
  9. Suan Luang District
  10. Chom Thong District
  11. Don Mueang District
  12. Ratchathewi District
  13. Lat Phrao District
  14. Watthana District
  15. Bang Khae District
  16. Lak Si District
  17. Sai Mai District
  18. Khan Na Yao District
  19. Saphan Sung District
  20. Wang Thonglang District
  21. Khlong Sam Wa District
  22. Bang Na District
  23. Thawi Watthana District
  24. Thung Khru District
  25. Bang Bon District


Visitors: 171,681